DIY Project: Sunburst Mirror

1 Jun

F-I-N-A-L-L-Y! I have completed this DIY Sunburst project I’ve been working on for over 8 months. Ok, well not really 8 full months. I purchased some of the supplies, finished 1/4 of the project, gave birth to a human, moved to another state, pretended to sleep for 7 months and finally finished it this past weekend. I originally started the project to hang over our bed in the master bedroom in another state.  And, while I would still love to have a piece to hang there, this niche {or whatever you call it} in our open-concept living room has been calling out to me {please ignore the black coaxial cable- that’s next on the list}

Niche above fireplace

I got inspiration from basically copied Shelley from Crazy Wonderful’s Sunburst Mirror DIY. I loved how substantial it was and, of course, the price tag. If you’re looking for inspiration for your own Sunburst Mirror, Pinterest has plenty here to choose from.  I’m not going to do a step-by-step because I basically followed Shelley’s post. But I’ll tell you what I did:

  • I found my mirror for $12.99 at Ross
  • Used the 18″ Shims from Home Depot as is- I did not trim them.
  • I used gray spray paint as a base coat for the pewter glaze

Some additional tips:

  • I glued my shims in groups of 5 & 7 like Shelley {It’s a great project to do while watching TV if you’re so inclined} and used my handy-dandy rubber band ball {Thanks, OfficeMax}. I made them flush on the front side by using a flat surface.  This made it a bit more challenging when it came time to glue the back side aka. uneven shim sides down to my wood flat.  So, after gluing the groups, I would recommend gluing each group together to give the piece more stability.
  • You’ll need more than 8 packages if you’re using them at full length.
  • I purchased my shims in two batches at separate times and they were distinctly different. One batch was more finely finished than the other. It was no big deal for me, I just mixed them up to make sure it wasn’t really noticeable in the finished product. It only adds to the charm IMO.

Some pictures along the way:

Aaahhhh. So glad this is finished and I loved checking this off my list- literally! Do you have any projects that you’ve been working on for a while? What’s holding you up? Anything you’ve recently completed that you’d like to share? I’d love to see it.

Thanks for stopping by and Ciao for now!

Lauren

4 Responses to “DIY Project: Sunburst Mirror”

  1. Joanne Kitz June 1, 2012 at 10:15 PM #

    It came out great Lauren.

  2. Basic Organization June 2, 2012 at 1:41 PM #

    Beautiful Lauren.

  3. Catherine Kordecki June 3, 2012 at 1:07 PM #

    I’m very impressed Lauren. Great work!

  4. techorgmama June 3, 2012 at 2:21 PM #

    Thanks, Ladies! It was relatively simple to do and I love how it fills the awkward niche. On to the next project…

Please don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you in the comments.

